Interview and words by James Handler.

Featuring on ‘The Wild Winds EP’, is Harry Pane’s emotional single ‘Fletcher Bay’.

The singer songwriter has been a feature on BBC Introducing and various venues around the UK, embarking on his own headline tour. Incorporating a singer / songwriter style with rock and blues elements, the single is certainly one to listen to.

As well as everything else that Harry has been busy with, he agreed to talk to Lightning Nation about what it’s like being a musician.

In March you released the single ‘Fletcher Bay’, which is on your latest EP. What inspires you to begin writing new music, and what’s the process?

For me parts of ‘The Wild Winds EP’ are hugely personal but it was definitely a process I needed to go through and it’s something I couldn’t help but write about.   The EP has a lot of variation to it, it was unavoidable really because I was just having fun creating it in the studio and experimenting with different ideas.  It signifies an element of closure, following on from my EP ‘Changing’, which was written about mental health but it seemed to mean something different to each person.

In the first place, what or who got you into music?

I grew up listening to artists such as Bob Dylan, John Martyn, Christy Moore, and Damien Rice amongst many others.  I was lucky enough to be surrounded by music from both my parents.

Which genres or artists would you say inspire your music the most? Do you listen to these people’s music for your inspiration?

I also find people like Jack White, Bon Iver, Rocco Deluca and The Black Keys really inspiring.  I like to try and find the time to go and see other emerging artists live, who are at a level or two above me, I’m looking forward to seeing Luke Sital-Singh in London in May and I’d love to see Tom Grennan soon.  It’s a great learning curve for me.

Where did you play your first ever concert? Is it a positive memory?

At my school, it was a good experience and I actually played a Tenacious D song but it got me hooked on performing live.

What can we expect from your upcoming shows? You’ve got some quite exciting ones coming up!

I am nearing the end of my first UK headline tour, still to come are dates in, Oxford, Canterbury & Buckingham and some special showcases for BBC Introducing Oxford and Communion Music.  You can find them all on www.harrypane.com.

Festivals, some are yet to be announced but I am playing City Sound Project in Canterbury on April 29th,  Smoked & Uncut on June 11th and a couple of great festivals in Amsterdam in July and other small UK festivals including Front Row Fest in my hometown.  

Did you study music at school, or is your music something that you’ve discovered yourself over the years?

I am very much self-taught as a musician but I studied Music at Stratford Upon Avon College and Northampton College which taught me a lot about the business side of things and how to prepare yourself for performing live.

If you could play at one UK festival or venue, which would it be? Who would you want to share the stage with?

The O2 Academy Brixton is the dream, I’d love to share the stage with Jack White, that would be fun.

Lastly, can you think of one question that you wish I had asked you… and answer it please?

Ooh that’s a tough one, maybe something ridiculous and totally irrelevant like: “if your music were an animal what would it be?” A honey badger; on the surface it seems nice, but it’s got some bite. 

